Home > Uncategorized > Why'd I do this? Seriously, why?

Why'd I do this? Seriously, why?

Matt Yglesias had a post about think tanks, mainly about how the Right has plenty of them already & the progressive ones were established as responses.  I pointed out a less mainstream one in comments &, well…:

The term “market anarchism” is a dead tell that it’s a right-wing group. Proudhon, for example, wouldn’t be associated with “market” anything. Those idiots are followers of Gustave de Molinari . So we’re firmly in Bob Roddis* territory here.

This logic sounds familiar

(* – I added the Bob Roddis link so you can tell who he’s talking about.  I’d never heard of him until I did a search.)

Edit: I didn’t want to turn it into an argument.  Honestly, I more wanted to see Matt’s reaction, considering unlike most of the prog bloggers he’s actually encountered a left-libertarian before on a serious issue.  Didn’t even intend on this becoming a subject of a post.  I brought up the Labor Theory of Value as an example of something a right-wing group wouldn’t support & got this response from a commenter:

Actually Benjamin Tucker and Lysander Spooner were both right-wing anarchist who adhered to the labor theory of value. It looks like these guys are mostly Rothbard fans, and Rothbard was influenced by both of those guys. Of course, being a good little Austrian, Rothbard rejected LTV himself. But I guess those guys didn’t get that memo.

Benjamin Tucker: right-winger.  You know, that guy that said of his own philosophy that “it wants to deprive capital of its reward”…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Joe
    February 23, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Well, at least it’s good for a few laughs (to whatever extent you can find humor in a bunch of apparently intelligent people mocking ideas because they happen to fall outside of the pathetically narrow confines of “acceptable opinion”).

    I have to say, also, that you may have been giving Yglesias more credit than he deserves. If I recall, he came off like kind of an asshole in that Cato debate. He seemed impatient, almost dismissive, like he had better things to do than discuss irrelevant ideas–kinda like the readers at his blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment